top of page

poem: of grain and water


I exist

to achieve the most basic of things

to transform grain and water


I breathe

accepting that which nourishes

releasing that which does not


I digest

from mouth to stomach

my stomach as earth’s granary


I assimilate

at my core

to feel satiated, nothing more


I sink

deep into the water and grain

that which holds the spirit of the season


I embrace.

to feel full

to feel supported.



In Chinese medical texts, food is often referred to as "grain and water".

I find this to be a beautiful way of explaining the digestion process - the mixing of both grain and water to create a new substance. We consume and then must make use of the grain and water. Taking the time to slow down and appreciate the process of digestion from its first step to last (yep, I'm talking about elimination here) is something we don't often do. At first glance, "transforming" our food seems mundane but if we stop to honor this process, we may end up feeling more nourished and supported than ever before.


The fourth point on the stomach meridian, ST 4, is named Earth Granary DÌCĀNG 地倉.

ST 4, DÌCĀNG 地倉, is located bilaterally on the sides of the mouth. A granary is a storehouse for grain. The stomach meridian is associated with the Earth element in Five Element theory. This is a common point used in facial acupuncture as a "facelift" point. In addition, the face has three divisions: the area above the nose corresponds to heaven, the nose to man, and the area below the nose to earth.


bottom of page